Less Than Equals

Genre: Historical Fiction

For Fans Of

Historical Fiction or Epic Family Sagas

Book Summary

As a family struggles for survival, one woman refuses to be another cog in the machine…
Victorian Era England: Harriet is desperate to escape the clutches of her abusive uncle. As an unmarried woman with few prospects, she has little choice but to live under his roof. When a charming man comes to work for them, Harriet thinks she's found her way out…

But after the marriage ceremony and birthing two children, Harriet's new family still doesn't have a home of their own. And she still can't decipher her husband's mysterious reasons for wanting to stay. After an argument with her uncle spirals out of control, he locks Harriet away in an asylum…

While corrective therapy is meant to replace her headstrong ways, Harriet has other plans for her captivity. If her idea works, she could free her family from her uncle's control once and for all…

Less Than Equals is the second book in The Ambition & Destiny Series, a Victorian Era historical fiction family saga. If you like heroines who are ahead of their time, then you'll love the second instalment in VL McBeath's engaging series.

Get Less Than Equals and join the quest for freedom today!

Inspired by a true story, Less Than Equals continues the epic saga of one family’s trials, tragedies, and triumphs as they make their fortune in Victorian Era England.

Please Note: The books in The Ambition & Destiny Series form one story. Each ends with a cliff hanger and it is recommended that the Parts are read in sequential order.
All books are written in UK English.


GOLD Quality Mark

“This is an excellent book, well written and with impeccable timing. The ending is sure to make readers eager for the next book in the series.” BooksGoSocial

"This is a wonderful book. A rare five stars!" Amazon reviewer

"I read with great enthusiasm and was left in anticipation looking forward to the next instalment." Amazon reviewer

"I truly enjoyed this story and am excited for the next part!" Goodreads reviewer

About the Author

The Ambition & Destiny Series was inspired by VL McBeath's interest in family history. When she started her research she had no idea what she would find or where it would lead. A couple of years later, however, she felt compelled to turn the unfolding story into a novel.

The story is an epic family saga of love, loss and betrayal set against the backdrop of Victorian Era England. It starts in 1839 with a short story prequel Condemned by Fate, before moving into the main series which is told in five parts, spanning 1846 to 1910.

Born and raised in Liverpool (UK), Val trained as a scientist and has worked in the pharmaceutical industry for many years. She now lives in Cheshire with her husband, her youngest daughter, and cat. In addition to family history, her interests include rock music and Premier League Football.

For further details about 'The Ambition & Destiny Series' or for background information on the Victorian Era, visit: http://vlmcbeath.com

create bestselling novels with pimp my fiction writing technique secrets