Always a Slave

Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance

Book Summary

How much can one man take?

The second book in The James Saga, tells the epic story of one man’s struggle to escape the horrors of slavery.
Donald Archer is a defiant slave on the Havers End plantation. Under the brutal regime of the chief overseer, Preston Carmichael, Donald has to endure Preston’s barbaric actions against himself and his fellow slaves.
Donald finally snaps when an incident involving Preston ends in tragedy.

Yet, matters are complicated by his burgeoning friendship with Belvedere Rossiter, the eldest sister of his master, Lawrence James. The situation is not helped by the fact the two men loathe each other. When Donald uncovers a secret which could destroy the James family, Donald fears his volatile relationship with Lawrence will worsen if he finds out the truth.
Donald is torn between his deep friendship for Belvedere and his yearning to escape Havers End.
Will he make a dangerous attempt to escape or will he always be a slave?

About the Author

Annette Austin is a self-published author of four novels, ‘The Fall of the House of James’, ‘Always A Slave’, ‘A Slave’s Vow’ and ‘Betrayal of Love’. Before she embarked on a writing career, Annette predominantly had a career in finance. Whilst she achieved some success during the course of her time in finance, her overriding aim was to become a full-time writer. After she had a startling dream in December 2012, it gave her the impetus to start writing her first novel, ‘The Fall of the House of James.’ Following a long personal struggle, the book was finally released in June 2018. Since then, she has published two more books in The James Saga. Annette is hoping to publish several more in the series. She will begin working on her fifth novel, ‘Between Love and War’ shortly. Annette has always been fascinated by history including the more brutal and controversial aspects which many people are unwilling to discuss, hence this was a factor in setting the novels during the time of slavery. Away from writing, Annette loves to exercise, especially yoga, sings loudly to 1980’s pop music and is a sports enthusiast.
All four books in The James Saga have garnered five-star reviews on Amazon.
Presently, Annette has delivered her latest novel, ‘Betrayal of Love’ - available on Amazon for a reduced price for a limited time period.

create bestselling novels with pimp my fiction writing technique secrets