Hooks & Eyes

Genre: Historical Fiction

For Fans Of

Historical Fiction or Epic Family Sagas

Book Summary

To start again, Mary must leave the past behind...

Victorian Era England. Mary is determined to put her troubled past behind her. As a widow with two small children, she is desperate to earn enough money to look after her family. When she takes a job making hooks & eyes for the ambitious Mr. Wetherby, she thinks she's found a solution…

But when Mr. Wetherby decides he wants Mary as more than a worker, she fears his intentions are dishonorable. After all, why else would he be interested in her? Following a misunderstanding, Mary abandons her job, never wanting to see him again…

While Mary prepares to make another life for herself, Mr. Wetherby has other ideas. If his plan works, he could use the children to win Mary’s heart and free her from a life of poverty once and for all…

Hooks & Eyes is the first book in The Ambition & Destiny Series, a Victorian Era family saga. If you like 19th-century historical fiction, and tales of women fighting for their families, then you'll love the first installment in VL McBeath's engaging series.

Buy Hooks & Eyes and start reading this journey through Victorian Era England today!!

Please Note: The Ambition & Destiny Series consists of 5 books that form one story. Each ends with a cliffhanger, and it is recommended that the Parts be read in sequential order.
All books are written in UK English.


A gripping tale, all the more fascinating knowing it's based on real-life people and tells a true story of the author's family history.

Recommend to fans of history, romance, suspense and anyone just looking for an interesting and good read

Excellent storyline. The characters and plot are well developed.

This promises to be a fantastic family saga series.

An enthralling read...

Click here to see more testimonials

About the Author

The Ambition & Destiny Series was inspired by VL McBeath's interest in family history. When she started her research she had no idea what she would find or where it would lead. A couple of years later, however, she felt compelled to turn the unfolding story into a novel.

The story is an epic family saga of love, loss and betrayal set against the backdrop of Victorian Era England. It starts in 1839 with a short story prequel Condemned by Fate, before moving into the main series which is told in five parts, spanning 1846 to 1910.

Born and raised in Liverpool (UK), Val trained as a scientist and has worked in the pharmaceutical industry for many years. She now lives in Cheshire with her husband, her youngest daughter, and cat. In addition to family history, her interests include rock music and Premier League Football.

For further details about 'The Ambition & Destiny Series' or for background information on the Victorian Era, visit: http://vlmcbeath.com

create bestselling novels with pimp my fiction writing technique secrets