Stories from the War: Military Dystopian Thriller

Genre: Action Adventure, Dystopian and Futuristic

Book Summary

Enter a dark future. Our dark future.

After a decade of storms, disease, drought, and riots, the US conquers its troubles by militarizing its government. Old democratic allies in Europe respond uneasily to the change.

in 2055 Arinna and Michael Prescot are just two of the many former soldiers sent to foreign embassies in the hopes of strengthening faltering US alliances. But as the US becomes embroiled in new internal terrorism, its agents in Europe are offered intimidation and lies rather than explanations. And the price of seeking the truth to events back home is steep.

As the growing conflict in the US threatens the peace of Europe and tips the world toward World War III, choices of loyalty need to be made - if Michael and Arinna can determine who to trust and if the price of their help is worth the cost. Global events hinge on a few individuals as an apocalyptic war threatens Europe, and no one is more unprepared than its potential saviors.

Stories from the War consists of eleven interlinked short stories that are a prelude to the military dystopian thriller trilogy Friends of my Enemy.

Set in Europe, this near future fiction series of novels unfolds through the intersecting lives of a small handful of people and explores adult themes, both dark and hopeful, of friendship, romance, and family, including how these influences direct everyday choices which ripple outwards to impact governments on the verge of an apocalypse. Because not all influence is good, and not all decisions can be made in time.


If I could give it ten stars, I would.
I'm not much into war stories, but there is an exception to everything. This book is the exception.
It takes place in the not too distant future. It's a war story, but the emphasis is on the characters, the power plays and the people. It starts out slowly and the next thing you know, you're so wrapped up in it, it's waaay past bedtime.

This is a Must Read for fans of War, Dystopia, Fantasy and just plain good old-fashioned, well written books.

Similar Books You May like

About the Author

Autumn is a best selling author in fantasy, epic fantasy, and war - not all on the same series though! She is the author of the epic fantasy, adventure trilogy on elemental magic, the Rise of the Fifth Order. Her newest series is Friends of my Enemy, a military dystopian/ dark fantasy tale laced with romance. Friends of my Enemy was released in full in 2015 and is quite the story full of strong characters, tight plots, and lots of action. Meanwhile, she is working on a new epic fantasy trilogy, Games of Fire, set in the same world as the Rise of the Fifth Order. The first book was released in March of 2016. If she stops goofing off and enjoying hobbies such as hiking, motorcycling, and kayaking, she may even be able to release the second book in 2016 too.

create bestselling novels with pimp my fiction writing technique secrets