The Fall of the House of James

Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance

Book Summary

Falling in love with a slave – can it ever work?

A turbulent tale of love entwined with the brutal nature of slavery, the first book in The James Saga follows the forbidden romance between Lawrence James, the son of a plantation owner and Jasmine Thomas, a slave on the Havers End plantation in 1860.

Although he’s aware of the consequences, Lawrence cannot hold back as his feelings continue to grow the more time he spends with Jasmine.

However, there are other problems facing Lawrence. He has been groomed to take over the plantation, but Lawrence has a deep uneasiness about becoming a slave owner. His volatile relationship with his father, Edward, doesn’t help matters.
There are also concerns over his eldest sister, Belvedere Rossiter, and her growing friendship with a rebellious slave, Donald Archer. While Lawrence hates Donald, Belvedere has an opposing view.

Lawrence’s biggest dilemma is - does he choose to be the dutiful son or risk everything to be with Jasmine?

About the Author

Annette Austin is a self-published author of four novels, ‘The Fall of the House of James’, ‘Always A Slave’, ‘A Slave’s Vow’ and ‘Betrayal of Love’. Before she embarked on a writing career, Annette predominantly had a career in finance. Whilst she achieved some success during the course of her time in finance, her overriding aim was to become a full-time writer. After she had a startling dream in December 2012, it gave her the impetus to start writing her first novel, ‘The Fall of the House of James.’ Following a long personal struggle, the book was finally released in June 2018. Since then, she has published two more books in The James Saga. Annette is hoping to publish several more in the series. She will begin working on her fifth novel, ‘Between Love and War’ shortly. Annette has always been fascinated by history including the more brutal and controversial aspects which many people are unwilling to discuss, hence this was a factor in setting the novels during the time of slavery. Away from writing, Annette loves to exercise, especially yoga, sings loudly to 1980’s pop music and is a sports enthusiast.
All four books in The James Saga have garnered five-star reviews on Amazon.
Presently, Annette has delivered her latest novel, ‘Betrayal of Love’ - available on Amazon for a reduced price for a limited time period.

create bestselling novels with pimp my fiction writing technique secrets