The Hidden Genes of Professor K: A Medical Mystery Thriller (Jack Rogan Mysteries Book 3)

Genre: Historical Fiction, Historical Thrillers, Mystery, Suspense Thrillers

For Fans Of

Clive Cussler, James Rollins, Steve Berry and Brad Thor

Book Summary

"The Hidden Genes of Professor K combines imagination, history, and knowledge of the leading edge of medical science to weave an epic tale of greed and intrigue. It takes the reader into the recesses of the human psyche, the hidden corners of history, and the dark matter of the human genome. The secrets are all there."

Professor John Mattick AO FAA,
Executive Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, Sydney, Australia

World-renowned scientist, Professor K knows he’s close to a ground-breaking discovery. He also knows he’s dying. With his last breath he anoints Dr Alexandra Delacroix as his successor and pleads with her to carry on his work. Delacroix unwittingly enters a dangerous world of unbridled ambition and greed that threatens to destroy her. Desperate and alone, she turns to celebrated author and journalist, Jack Rogan.

Alistair Macbeth, self-made billionaire and enigmatic founder of Blackburn Pharmaceuticals, has a murky past. He knows he must secure Professor K’s discovery for his empire, or perish. Powerful and ruthless, he will stop at nothing to achieve his dark and deep desires.

Meanwhile, when the parents of a famous rock star, Isis, are brutally murdered, Jack Rogan is asked to investigate.

On a perilous journey of discovery that takes them around the globe, Jack and Lola Rodriguez—Isis’ resourceful PA—join forces with Jana Gonski, a former police officer; Dr Bettany Rosen, a tireless campaigner for the destitute and forgotten; and Tristan, a gifted boy with psychic powers. Together, they expose a complex web of fiercely guarded secrets and heinous crimes of the past that can ruin them all and change history.

Will Rogan succeed? Will the dreams of a visionary scientist with the power to change the future of medicine fall into the wrong hands, or will his genius benefit mankind and prevent untold misery and suffering for generations to come?

An important message from the author

“Gabriel, you have a message for your readers regarding the order in which the books in the Jack Rogan Mysteries series can be read. Could you please explain?”

Gabriel Farago
“That’s right. It is important to keep in mind that the books in the series are NOT sequels, but ‘stand alone,’ and can therefore be read in any order. In short, the reader does not have to start with book one and go from there to understand and fully appreciate the characters and the storyline.”

“But the books are of course linked – right?”

Gabriel Farago
“ They are, but only loosely. Readers who are familiar with the earlier books will recognise subtle nuances, references and links which will add to the enjoyment of the book, but this is definitely not necessary. Each book can be read and enjoyed independently."

“Because each book stands alone?”

Gabriel Farago
“Correct. I would therefore suggest that readers choose the books according to subject matter and not according to the number they occupy in the series, unless they would like to embark on the ‘full journey.’ The best way to do this would be to purchase the books as a set and then read them in the order in which they appear in the series. A great literary adventure; promise!”

About the Author

As a lawyer with a passion for history and archaeology, Gabriel had to wait for many years before being able to pursue another passion—writing—in earnest. However, his love of books and storytelling started long before that.

‘I remember as a young boy reading biographies and history books with a torch under the bed covers,’ he recalls, ‘and then writing stories about archaeologists and explorers the next day, instead of doing homework. Whilst I regularly got into trouble for this, I believe we can only do well in our endeavours if we are passionate about the things we love; for me, writing has become a passion.’

Born in Budapest, Gabriel grew up in post-War Europe, and after fleeing Hungary with his parents during the Revolution in 56, he went to school in Austria before arriving in Australia as a teenager. This allowed him to become multi-lingual and feel ‘at home’ in different countries and diverse cultures. Shaped by a long legal career and experiences spanning several decades and continents, his is a mature voice that speaks in many tongues.
Gabriel holds degrees in literature and law, speaks several languages and takes research and authenticity very seriously. Inquisitive by nature, he studied Egyptology and learned to read the hieroglyphs. He travels extensively and visits all of the locations mentioned in his books.

‘I try to weave fact and fiction into a seamless storyline,’ he explains. ‘By blurring the boundaries between the two, the reader is never quite sure where one ends, and the other begins. This is of course quite deliberate as it creates the illusion of authenticity and reality in a work that is pure fiction. A successful work of fiction is a balancing act: reality must rub shoulders with imagination in a way that is both entertaining and plausible.’

Gabriel lives in the Blue Mountains in Australia just outside Sydney, surrounded by a World Heritage National Park.
‘The beauty and solitude of this unique environment,’ he points out, ‘gives me inspiration and the energy to weave my thoughts and ideas into stories which, I sincerely hope, will in turn entertain and inspire my readers.’

If you like historical thrillers, excitement, mystery and suspense, if you enjoy exotic settings, colourful characters and fast-paced action, if you like to learn about interesting, well-researched subjects that tease your intellect and imagination, then once your step inside, Gabriel will show you his world; the world of the storyteller.

Shaped by a long legal career and experiences spanning several decades and continents, his is a mature voice that speaks in many tongues.

His first book –The Empress Holds the Key: A historical mystery thriller– will take you on an exciting quest for a holy relic mysteriously erased from the pages of history. You will be transported far back in time to the reign of Akhenaten, the heretic pharaoh of ancient Egypt, and King Solomon and the Queen of Sheba. You will discover a dark secret guarded by the Knights Templar and feared by the Vatican, a mystery that has haunted the Catholic Church for centuries, and can challenge the very foundations of Christianity.

His second book –The Disappearance of Anna Popov: a psychological thriller– will thrill you in a different way. You will enter the dangerous world of an outlaw bikie gang. You will travel to the remote dreamtime wilderness of outback Australia where the ruler is an evil master, outcasts are heroes, and cruelty and violence are admired and rewarded. You will meet Cassandra, an enigmatic psychic. Using her occult powers to avenge an old, deep wrong, she sets the scene for an epic showdown where the stakes are high and the loser faces death and oblivion.

His third book –The Hidden Genes of Professor K: a medical mystery thriller– was released in 2016. Cutting-edge medical research meets the ruthless, dangerous world of pharmaceutical empire billionaires, where unbridled ambition and greed threaten to destroy the dreams of a visionary scientist with the power to change the future of medicine, and the journey of man.

A writer like Gabriel, sees the world through a different lens. Using creativity and imagination, He endeavours to weave fact and fiction into seamless stories that have only one aim: to entertain you.

create bestselling novels with pimp my fiction writing technique secrets