The Order

Genre: Action Adventure, Mystery, Suspense Thrillers

For Fans Of

Ian Rankin

Book Summary

The Second Book in The Parliament House Books series.

Crusading Advocate Brogan McLane's life is turned upside down by the discovery of a mute child, believed to have been used as a diamond mule. In this fast paced thriller McLane's blood brother is in the frame for trafficking the child, McLane is torn between trusting his oldest ally and damning evidence against him. Meanwhile McLane's bereaved wife takes on the role of mother an action that is to change all of their lives forever.

McLane musters his old friends in the Calton Bar and more to counter the accusations he desperately hopes to be false. More Low Life in High Places in the Old Town of Edinburgh.

John Mayer's Books

About the Author

John Mayer was born in Glasgow, Scotland at a time of post-WW2 austerity. In 1963 when he first heard The Beatles on Radio Caroline, his life path was set. Aged 14 he left school because, in his opinion, he wasn't being well taught. For the next year, in all weathers, he cycled 9 miles to and 9 miles from the Mitchell Library in central Glasgow where he devoured books of all kinds and began to understand what more the world had to offer. He became an Apprentice engineer, and soon moved on to teaching men twice his age. In the early 1970s his love of music led him to set up as a Record Producer. He built his own record company trading in 14 countries. After a disheartening court battle with global giants, he left the business world and went back into further education at the University of Edinburgh, becoming an Advocate in the Supreme Courts of Scotland. There he acted for the downtrodden and desperate as well as Greenpeace International. His specialism was in fighting international child abduction.

John has written non-fiction, legal texts and articles; broadcast to tens of millions of people on US and UK radio, appeared on TV and in print media. Since retiring from the Law, John has enjoyed using his years of very colourful experience to create The Parliament House Books series.

The Trial is the first full length novel in this series. Set in Edinburgh and Glasgow, it is more than a nod to Franz Kafka's book of the same title. The Trial sees crusading Scottish Advocate, Brogan McLane, fight injustices so casually delivered by Low Life in High Places in the Old Town.

create bestselling novels with pimp my fiction writing technique secrets